

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961

E-mail: ndus.inquiry@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

November 15, 2023, Academic and Student Affairs Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Academic and Student Affairs Committee met on November 15th at 9:30 a.m. CT.

State Board of Higher Education Members:

John Warford, SBHE Committee Chair Curtis Biller, SBHE Committee Member Kevin Black, SBHE Committee Member Sadie Hanson, SBHE Student Representative (joined 9:40) Lisa Montplaisir, SBHE Faculty Advisor

Colleges and Universities:

BSC – President Jensen

BSC – Dan Leingang

DCB – Dean Simone

DCS – Massul

LRSC – Lloyd Halvorson MaSU –

3. State Authorizations:

- i. Columbia College
- ii. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
- iii. Rasmussen University

Vice Chancellor Johnson reviewed the requests for state authorization for Columbia College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, and Rasmussen University. The committee discussed and raised questions regarding Rasmussen University.

Cabinet. President Jensen presented his <u>position paper</u> in support of BSC's request. After considerable discussion, the SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee members agreed to forward Policy 409 to the full Board for first read discussion, without inclusion of BSC's request. The BSC request will be further discussed and considered at a future ASAC meeting. Further data will be presented, including a matrix of BSC proposed Bachelor degree offerings compared with current Bachelor degree offerings by other NDUS institutions.

Hanson moved, Black seconded, to recommend approval for 1st reading of Policy 409, excludrheli hrixe