

North Dakota Board of Higher Education May 29, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Friday, May 29 th at 9:00 a.m. CT, via Interactive Video Conferencing (IVN) , originat ed from Bismarck State College, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bavendick room, 1200 Schafer Street, Bismarck, ND 58501. Board members may attend from alternate IVN locations to minimize group size and contact, as recommended by state and federal govern ment officials.

Chair Hacker called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Nick Hacker, Chair

Mr. Kaleb Dschaak

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Don Morton

Dr. Debora Dragseth, Faculty Adviser

Dr. Casey Ryan, Vice Chair

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Ms. Jill Louters

Ms. Danita Bye (arrived 10:00 a.m. CT)

Ms. Retha Mattern, Staff Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU

Dr. John Miller, President, WSC

Dr. Jerry Migler, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. John Richman, President, NDSCS

Dr. Dean Bresciani, President, NDSU

Dr. Larry C. Skogen, Presiden t, BSC

Mr. Stephen Easton, President, DSU

Dr. Joshua Wynne, Interim President, UND

Dr. Andy Armacost, Incoming President, UND

NDUS Senior Staff Participating:

Mr. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chancellor for Admin/CFO

Ms. Lisa Johnson, VC of Academic and Student Affairs

Mr. Darin King, VC of IT/CIO

Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Executive Assistant to the State Board of Higher Education

Mr. Phil Wisecup, VC of Strategic Engagement

Others Participating:

Mr. Eric Olson, Attorney General's Office

Ms. Erika Solberg, Incoming SBHE Student Member

1. Agenda

Ryan moved, Morton seconded, to approve the agenda regarding the WICHE Conference by Ms. Jill Louters

with an addition of a report

Ms. Lisa Johnson proposed extending the originally approved extension for the following waivers to policies . Board members did not have any concerns . Ms. Retha Ma ttern, SBHE

18. SBHE Chairand

- 23. SBHE Research Committee u pdate was provided by Dr. Casey Ryan .
- 24. SBHE Governance Committee update was provided by Mr. Don Morton. He expressed his